UCT photo by Ian Barbour CC BY SA


The UCT Writers series is published by the University of Cape Town’s Centre for Creative Writing in partnership with Electric Book Works. It aims to publish excellent writing by writers associated with the university and its city.

Unfortunately we cannot accept unsolicited manuscripts. If you would like to propose a publication, and are associated in some way with the university, please seek out a member of our editorial team to discuss your proposal.

Buying books

To buy books, please mail info@uctwriters.co.za.

Editorial team

Ron Irwin is a professional lecturer, literary agent and acclaimed novelist. He was the writer in residence for the University of Cape Town’s prestigious MA in Creative Writing in 2008, and has taught in the programme since 1999. He has worked as a documentary film maker, film agent, and brand management consultant. Ron holds a Masters degree in Literary Studies (UCT) and a Masters in Creative Writing (UCT).

Martha Evans has an MA in Creative Writing and a PhD in Media Studies from the University of Cape Town, where she teaches in journalism and media studies. She has worked as a writer, editor, copywriter and mass communication strategist and has edited the work of a number of top South African writers. The won the Sunday Independent travel writing competition in 2008. The is the author of Broadcasting the End of Apartheid: Television and the Birth of the New South Africa.

Arthur Attwell is co-founder of Electric Book Works, a Shuttleworth Foundation Fellow, and founder of Paperight. He writes about technology and publishing in Africa at arthurattwell.com, and is the editor of the blog How to Publish Your Poetry. He holds a Masters in Creative Writing from UCT.


The UCT Writers Series was founded by Stephen Watson, then head of the Centre for Creative Writing at UCT, and Gus Ferguson of Snailpress. They set out to publish poetry and fiction associated with the university that would not ordinarily be published by mainstream commercial publishers. Under their leadership, the series published four volumes of poetry. Electric Book Works took over production and distribution of the series from Snailpress in 2007, and expanded the editorial team in 2013.